The Luxury of Leftovers – Red Pepper Basil Penang Curry

This is actually a special Easter/Passover post, because after all that cooking, you are TIRED, man.  You want to eat without any more FUSS.  So here we have a special LEFTOVERS entry to help put on your creative brain and “spice up” something you already have around. But just to be punky and annoying, I’m not doing it with anything you would’ve made for Easter or Passover – I’m using some Thai Curry I had instead.  Ha HAH!  But it’s the same idea – add “B” and “C” to “A” and you get “D”elicious!  (Did I just lose you?)  Anyway, with this in mind, witness Red Pepper Basil Penang Curry!

WOW!  YOU made that?  No, actually, I didn't, so there.

WOW! YOU made that? No, actually, I assembled it. So there.

Yeah, so this one doesn’t even really have a recipe, more of a story actually.  Basically, I love the Penang Curry with Tofu at my fave Thai place in Hollywood, Torung.  (Click on that link to read the F.O.O.D. entry in my other blog, Saminating Shabermurs, all about the wonders of Torung, and other cheap places where I love to eat.)  (F.O.O.D. stands for Favorite Offbeat Offordable Dineries.)

Anyway, after some good BYOB wine, and some fresh spring rolls, I wasn’t hungry enough to eat the whole Penang dish, so I took home the LEFTOVERS and got ready to eat them the next day for lunch.  And it was THEN, that I got an idea…

TOOLS:
Big knife
Small saucepan

INGREDIENTS:
Leftover Penang curry
1/2 red bell pepper
2 giant fresh basil leaves

RECIPE:
Slice up the bell pepper.  (This in itself was a leftover from the sage cheddar red pepper cornbread the day before – how great is that?)  Rinse the basil leaves under the tap, (got ’em at the
farmer’s market so they’s usually pretty dirty), and squeeze them out in your hand.

Pour the leftover Penang Curry into your saucepan and turn on medium low heat.  Add the red pepper pieces and stir, about 5 minutes, until the pieces start to get soft.  (But don’t overdo it – don’t want the rice and tofu to burn!)  Turn off the heat.  Tear up the basil leaves and fold them into the hot curry until they wilt.

SERVE and ENJOY!!!

Aaah, another great day for the Punky Chef.  And not to say the curry wasn’t good enough on its own, but I love other dishes they make at Torung with basil and red pepper, so just thought I’d imitate them with what I had in my kitchen.  Plus I love what the bright red pepper and dark green basil colors add to the peanuty palette of the coconut curry.  That’s what I’ve started doing – I always loved food, but now I really PAY ATTENTION to what goes into it and what flavors the different ingredients have.  Then I can start experimenting.  Kinda like how I learned lots of Beatles songs on the guitar before I started writing my own – it’s always good to learn from the best!

Leave a Reply

